Our School


By statute, Toowoomba Grammar School is governed by a seven-person Board of Trustees. The Board has a dual role as a government statutory body and as a governing board.

Specific responsibilities of the Board of Trustees include:

  •  Policy making
  •  Appointing the Headmaster
  •  Planning, goal setting and appraisal
  •  Overseeing financial resources
  •  Overseeing school resources

The Board delegates to the Headmaster the tasks of recruiting, appointing, appraising, promoting and disciplining staff. The Headmaster also has authority over student enrolments.

The Trustees


Mr Glen McCracken (Chairman)

Mr Glen McCracken was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 1990, and in 1999 he was appointed Chairman.  Mr McCracken attended Toowoomba Grammar School from 1970-1974 and was Senior Dayboy Prefect in 1974.  Mr McCracken is a partner in a Toowoomba legal firm and advises on business, finance, property and succession matters. He is a Fellow of The Tax Institute and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Dr Russell Domrow (Deputy Chairman)

Dr Russell Domrow was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2009 and is the parent of two Toowoomba Grammar School Old Boys.  Dr Domrow graduated in Medicine from the University of Queensland and has practised in Toowoomba since 1986.  Dr Domrow has also been an Honorary Lecturer at The University of Queensland and an Examiner for the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.


Mr Chris Wicks

Mr Chris Wicks was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2011.  Mr Wicks boarded at Toowoomba Grammar School from 1981 to 1985 and was Senior Prefect in 1985.  Mr Wicks has an agribusiness background and he currently works for a resource company in forecasting and economic modelling of gas developments and facilitating coexistence with landholders.  Mr Wicks’ two sons attended Toowoomba Grammar School and he is a Past President of the Old Boys’ Association.


Dr Nicola Hulme-Peake

Dr Hulme-Peake was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2013.  She emigrated to Toowoomba from the United Kingdom in 1995.  Dr Hulme-Peake is a practising dentist with a Toowoomba Dental Clinic and she is a current Toowoomba Grammar School parent.


Mrs Kym Murray

Mrs Kym Murray was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2013. She has degrees in Arts and Law. Mrs Murray and her husband have owned and operated a successful small business in Toowoomba for the past 30 years.  Mrs Murray’s two sons are Old Boys of Toowoomba Grammar School.

Mr Brendan Baulch

Mr Brendan Baulch was appointed to the Board of Trustees in 2017.  Mr Baulch is the principal of Baulch & Associates, a Toowoomba-based accounting practice providing taxation, audit and management accounting services to small and medium-sized enterprises.  He has a Bachelor of Commerce and Law and is a current Toowoomba Grammar School Parent.

Mr Barry O’Sullivan

Mr Barry O’Sullivan was appointed to the Board of Trustees in January 2018.  Mr O’Sullivan is the Director of Newlands Civil Construction and Newlands Commercial Construction,  based in Toowoomba, which specialise in Civil and Commercial Construction.  Mr O’Sullivan is also involved in a number of other companies within Toowoomba and is a current Toowoomba Grammar School parent.


Please follow these links to view the following:

2016 Report to the Minister for Education and Minister for Tourism, Major Events and the Commonwealth Games
Open Data – Consultancies
Open Data – Overseas Travel